Two Volunteer Positions Available

By: The Borgen Project  06/25/2014
Keywords: Non-Profit, Advocacy

The Borgen Project is seeking volunteers in the following positions: ADVOCATE Location: Nationwide (Telecommute Volunteer Role) Salary: Unpaid Duration: 3-months Hours: 4-hours per week This is a great entry-level volunteer position for someone looking to be part of The Borgen Project. Advocates can operate from anywhere in the U.S. - Attend one (30-60 minute) national conference call every week (5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT). - Serve as an ambassador for the world’s poor. Build awareness of the issues and ways people can help. - Manage and implement fundraising campaigns. - Represent The Borgen Project’s in your city. Attend events and engage people in the cause. - Contact congressional leaders in support of key poverty-reduction programs. Qualifications: - Excellent overall communication skills: oral, written, presentation. - Ability to self-manage and prioritize assignments. How to Apply: To apply, send your resume to [email protected] REGIONAL DIRECTOR Location: Nationwide (Telecommute Volunteer Role) Salary: Unpaid Duration: 6 months Hours: 4-6 hours per week Regional Directors operate independently from home and maintain contact with The Borgen Project’s Seattle office. Regional Directors sign a 6-month contract. The position is volunteer and is roughly 4-6 hours per week. Regional Directors attend a conference call every Monday evening. Regional Directors come from many diverse backgrounds, some of which include a news anchor, veteran, banker, teacher, relief worker, political staffer, sales manager, programmer, and college students. Key Responsibilities: - Attend one (30-60 minute) conference call every week with the President of The Borgen Project and Regional Directors from across the United States (5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT). - Meet with local congressional leaders and lobby for legislation that improves living conditions for those living on less than $1 per day. - Mobilize people in your community to contact their congressional leaders to support poverty reduction legislation. - Manage and implement fundraising campaigns. - Build a network of people engaged in the cause. - Serve as The Borgen Project’s ambassador in your city. Qualifications: Basic understanding of U.S. Politics and international development. - Highly organized with the ability to prioritize multiple functions and tasks while managing their work time efficiently. - Strong team player that loves to bring new ideas to the table. - Ability to demonstrate frequent independent judgment with decisiveness. - Excellent overall communication skills: oral, written, presentation How to Apply: To apply, send your resume to [email protected]

Keywords: Advocacy, Non-Profit

Contact The Borgen Project

Email

Print this page